Board of Visitors
Board of Visitors

Tom Davis

Vice Rector
Jon Peterson

Kelly McNamara Corley

Board Members
Mahfuz Ahmed
Karen Alcalde
Stephen M. Cumbie
Claire Dwoskin
Anne Gruner
James W. Hazel
John Jacquemin
Wendy Marquez
David Petersen
Shawn Purvis
Tracy Schar
Robert Witeck
Lisa Zuccari

Faculty Representative
Keith Renshaw

Student Representatives
Nathan Pittman
Christian Suero

Faculty Committee Representatives
Alan Abramson
David Gallay
Paul Houser
Bijan Jabbari
Jill Nelson
Emmanuel Petricoin
Peter Pober
June Tangney

Faculty Committee Liaison
Edward Douthett

Board of Visitors Virginia State Seal
The Board of Visitors (BOV)
of George Mason University was created in April 1972 by an act of the General Assembly when the university became an independent institution. The board is a corporate body serving under the leadership of a rector, vice rector, and secretary. The 16 members of the board are appointed by the governor of Virginia on a rotating basis to serve four-year terms. The Faculty Senate Chair sits on the board as a nonvoting member. Two student representatives (nonvoting members) are appointed by the Board of Visitors each year at the May meeting to serve a one-year term.

Without limiting the generality of its powers, the Board of Visitors exercises its authority principally in policy-making and oversight. With the exception of meetings convened in executive session, meetings of the Board of Visitors and its committees are open to the public. The board recognizes as official observers eight faculty representatives that are elected by the faculty at-large. Two faculty representatives sit on each of the following committees: Academic Programs, Diversity, and University Community Committee, Finance and Land Use Committee, Development Committee, and Research Committee. A faculty liaison may be appointed to the Audit Committee.

BOV Information:

  • Board of Visitors Bylaws
  • Board of Visitor Meeting Schedule for 2016-17
  • Board Agendas, Minutes and Other Matters

  • BOV Contact:
    If you would like to contact the Board of Visitors,
    you may send an email to or call
    the Secretary, pro tem, of the Board at 703-993-8627.


    Updated: 8/8/2016